Flinch no more girls!

I wanted to share my thoughts on something today. PERIODS. Yes, you read it right. 

Let me start by sharing an incident. During the lunch break in my college a girl had come from my neighbouring class asking for a help. Sitting in the last bench I was just observing her body language. She kept looking around the class fearing the boys might hear her. She went near her friend and whispered something after which her friend slid what she had asked with much difficulty so that people won’t notice. And all this time her face was so worried.

Can I blame her for being so nervous!? NO!

There are a lot of taboos in India and speaking or rather even uttering the word periods is one amongst them. All you can expect from the men in public while saying this word is an uncooked expression like you have uttered an unparliamentary word. 

Everyone expects you to carry the sanitary pads wrapped in black or brown covers so that no one knows about it. Knows about what? That you are buying one!? Like seriously! Practically every household has one and don’t tell me that you are buying one without the knowledge of the men in home.

I am sure everyone is knowledgeable enough to know the human body and how it works. Girls/ladies do have a monthly cycle and that is the normalcy of it. So they shouldn’t go pink in embarrassment about it. Things have evolved and you see India developing as a country but still our society’s thoughts remains the same!?

I wanted to express my thoughts about this in a public platform and I am glad I did. This is to all the girls out there – you never should feel bad about taking the topic of a completely normal thing. Only if you be brave in expressing, the people around you will accept this “new” change sooner. Likewise guys please spare the “what is she talking about!?” expressions. It’s high time this taboo got destroyed. And I am gonna promise myself that next time I won’t flinch talking about it.

Author: Introvertthoughts

Hey! I guess I will be using this platform to voice out some of my thoughts. Hope u like it. Appreciations and criticisms are equally welcome. Ok bye :p

4 thoughts on “Flinch no more girls!”

  1. Haven’t heard about a girl writing such topics ..
    Many science pages used to display these topics
    Well… We boys are proud that girls are bold to display their problems publicly nowadays.

    Nice one👌👌👌…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

